If you are stopped and ticketed for speeding in the state of Nevada, it is likely that you won’t be looking forward to dealing with the situation. You will either have to pay a high fine or deal with the hassle of fighting the ticket. Traffic fines in Nevada often cost well over $100 and also may lead to points marked onto your driving record. These points will eventually disappear, but you will always have a conviction on your permanent record, which can affect your life in many ways.
Nevada Points System
Nevada utilizes a point system for maintaining driver records called the demerit point system. How the system works is each time that you are pulled over for an infraction and you plead guilty to that citation, you will receive demerit points noted against your driving record. Points for speeding depend on how much you were going over the limit and range anywhere from 1-4 points. If you do not stop at a traffic light or stop sign, you earn 4 demerit points. Careless and reckless driving will get you 6 and 8 points respectively, and more serious offenses only carry more points with them.
In Nevada, there is a “12 in 12 rule”. This means that if you get 12 or more points on your record within 12 months, the Nevada DMV will automatically suspend your license for 6 months. Serious offenses, however, like a DUI, will result in an automatic suspension of your license and do not have a set point value.
You can get three points cleared from your record by attending an approved traffic school in the state. If you plead guilty to the offense and pay the fine, that option will likely be available to you. The conviction, however, will stay a part of your record on a permanent basis.
Beating the Ticket
If you feel that you were wrongly ticketed, or the penalties for what you did are too severe, you might want to think about trying to beat the ticket. The first thing you will have to do is attend court at the time and place that is listed on the ticket in order to enter your plea of not guilty. You can then at least postpone paying for the ticket until after your real court date. At that time, the court will set a date for your actual trial, which will likely be about a month later. You will need to attend court at least twice in order to get your ticket cleared, which can be a problem if you live far away or outside of the state and are short for time.
Once you have set your trial date, you may want to evaluate whether or not you should hire a lawyer. Depending on the charges against you and what is at stake in the case, you may want to retain legal counsel during the trial. This can be a very good idea if you simply cannot afford the consequences of a speeding ticket.